Ecological systems theory

ImageHi, I wonder why we are who we are? Is it due to an environment or our genetic structure?  Maybe both of those elements should be included? Do we consider cultural aspect as well, some relations? Or we can be able to achieve everything by our own work and abilities?

Ecological systems theory provides one of an interesting possibility to answer this question. This theory was developed by Bronfenbrenner,who believed that a person’s development was affected by everything in their surrounding environment. He described the person’s environment into five levels: the microsystem, the mesosystem, the exosystem, the macrosystem, and the chronosystem.

The microsystem -system closest to the person and the one in which they have direct contact. (interaction of the closest people from home ,school).

The mesosystem -interactions between the different parts of a person’s microsystem.

The exosystem refers to a setting that does not involve the person as an active participant, but still affects them. This includes decisions that have bearing on the person, but in which they have no participation in the decision-making process

The makrosystem- the cultural environment in which the person lives and all other systems that affect them (the economy, cultural values political systems)

The chronosystem- dimension of time in relation to a person’s development.

The most significant for me as a child, aged 7-12 was mesosystem( accept of course the closest microsystem, which is obvious).

The most interesting was the influence- positive impact on my development:

 My mother was a math teacher in the same school ,where I was learning. It was a hard experience, but…

 try to imagine getting A from my  classwork.

„ It is all because your mother is a teacher here”.

But there were also another sides of the story. When I get C ( just to check my friends reaction)

I was also noticed as a bad girl,bad pupil.

„ It is a shame to get this mark- your mother is a teacher here, so how could You?”

There was always something stressfull for me- to get good mark- or not. I chose to learn better to show everybody that it is my work, I even learn much more than others to underline my abilities ad hoc.and I also had my own group of pupils who were acting the same like me and it was working. I got the best marks because my mother was the teacher in the same school!)

Leave a Reply

