ImageHi, I wonder why we are who we are? Is it due to an environment or our genetic structure?  Maybe both of those elements should be included? Do we consider cultural aspect as well, some relations? Or we can be able to achieve everything by our own work and abilities?

                I remember when I first try to solve sudoku. I guess everybody knows this numeracy  charade.

I could finish the  1st  level, the second ( but it took me some time to solve it), but the 3 rd was too difficult to me. It is a simple example, you may say, but very important due to what I am going to talk about.  what I remember was this kind of feeling of disability, no idea how to solve that puzzle! My mother helped me- she is a mathematician, she guided me. I was totaly involved in this process.

And I get it.

Based on this example , I would like to reffer to one of very interesting theory of development. It is social development theory by Vygotsky ( 1978).

This theory focuses on the links between people and sociocultural  context, in which  they act and interact in shared experiences ( Crawford,1986) .

There are 2 main aspects in this theory which should be understood.

ZPD (zone of proximal development) it is a difference between what a child can achieve by his own, independently and when provided with somebody’s assistance during the process.

 MKO ( more knowledgeable other). It can be someone who has a better understanding or a higher ability level than the learner, with respect to a particular task, process, or concept.  It can be a parent, older brother ,sister teacher, an older adult or just another support system.(My mum)

So ZPD is the area when effective skills to solve the problem are developing, during the social interaction.

According to Vygotsky (1962) language is the door to contact.  

Right now I am able to solve more difficult  than 6th level of  sudoku and I achieve fast results!

Alicja

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

